Hydrion Core Hydrogen Water Bottle

Hydrogen Water Bottle Brands Compared: A Sourced Spec Table

Hydrogen water bottle brands publish very different-looking numbers for concentration, membrane technology and certification, and the most impressive-looking figure on a page is not always the one you can verify. The table below lines up five current bottles, Hydrion Core, Hydrion Pulse, Piurify's Hydrogenator, Echo Flask and Hydroh, using the same set of columns and the same kind of source for every row: the brand's own product page or manufacturer site. Where a page states its concentration in parts per million instead of parts per billion, or leaves out the membrane and electrode details, that gap is marked openly rather than filled in with a guess.

  • Ppb and ppm are different units. One ppm equals 1,000 ppb, so a brand quoting "8 ppm" is not automatically weaker than one quoting "5,000 ppb"; the figures need converting to the same unit before they mean anything next to each other.
  • Membrane type (PEM or SPE) and electrode material affect how cleanly hydrogen is separated from oxygen and ozone and how long the bottle lasts, not just the headline concentration figure.
  • A certification name or a lab's logo on a product page is a claim worth checking, not the same thing as having read the underlying report.
  • Hydrion's own Core and Pulse bottles sit in the same table below, judged by the same columns as the three other brands.

Reading a hydrogen water bottle's spec sheet before you compare brands

Before the numbers in any comparison table mean anything, it helps to know what each column is actually measuring. Concentration is usually printed as either parts per billion (ppb) or parts per million (ppm), and brands are not consistent about which one they use. Since 1 ppm equals 1,000 ppb, a page that says "1.5 ppm" is describing roughly 1,500 ppb, not a figure smaller than a bottle that prints "1,000 ppb" directly. The full explanation of ppb versus ppm and how each is measured covers the testing conditions behind these numbers in more depth than a comparison table can.

The concentration figure also depends on how the bottle produces the hydrogen in the first place. Most bottles use electrolysis through a membrane, either a Proton Exchange Membrane (PEM) or a solid polymer electrolyte (SPE) membrane, paired with electrodes made from a specific metal or metal coating. The membrane and electrode choice affects how consistently the bottle separates hydrogen gas from oxygen and ozone byproducts and how long the internal parts hold up to repeated cycles, which is why the table below lists this alongside concentration rather than treating concentration as the only number that matters.

Finally, a certification name printed on a product page tells you what the brand says was tested, not that you can open the report yourself. A brand that names the specific lab it worked with, rather than writing an unattributed "lab tested" line, is giving you something you could in principle go verify. That is a meaningfully different level of transparency even before you get to whether the number itself checks out.

Spec table: concentration, technology and certification across five bottles

Each row below cites the specific manufacturer page read for this comparison. Concentration is shown both as the brand states it and normalized to ppb so the five bottles can be read on the same scale.

Bottle Concentration as stated Normalized to ppb Membrane & electrode Bottle capacity Certification / testing named
Hydrion Core 5,000 ppb 5,000 ppb PEM; platinum and iridium electrodes 300 ml CE, RoHS, FCC (source: Hydrion Core product page)
Hydrion Pulse ~4,000 ppb (5-min mode); up to 8,000 ppb (10-min mode) 4,000–8,000 ppb SPE; platinum-coated titanium electrodes 280 ml CE, RoHS, FCC, SGS-tested (source: Hydrion Pulse product page)
Piurify Hydrogenator up to 4,000 ppb up to 4,000 ppb Electrolysis; membrane type and electrode material not named on the page ~10 oz (about 296 ml) base bottle; ~17 oz (about 503 ml) handled variant None named on the page opened (source: Piurify site)
Echo Flask 8 ppm ~8,000 ppb PEM (electrode material not named) 12 oz (about 355 ml) H2 Analytics-certified testing; PFAS report referenced (source: Echo Flask product page)
Hydroh 1.5 ppm ~1,500 ppb Brand describes both PEM and SPE technology; capacity not stated on the page Not stated on the page opened H2- and SGS-certified testing referenced (source: Hydroh site)

Two gaps are worth noticing rather than glossing over. Piurify's page describes its process only as "electrolysis" without naming a membrane type or electrode metal, and Hydroh's page does not give a bottle capacity anywhere in the specs it publishes. Both are recorded here as open questions rather than assumptions, because filling them in would mean stating something the brand itself has not published.

Why the numbers alone don't settle the comparison

Lined up in ppb, Echo Flask's 8 ppm figure works out to roughly the same order of magnitude as Hydrion Pulse's high-mode "up to 8,000 ppb" figure, not a tenfold gap the way the raw "8 ppm" versus "8,000 ppb" labels might suggest at a glance. That is the practical reason to normalize units before drawing any conclusion from a table like this one.

A brand naming the specific lab behind its testing, as Echo Flask does with H2 Analytics and Hydrion Pulse does with SGS, is a stronger signal than an unattributed "lab tested" claim with no tester named. It still is not the same as the reader being able to open that report directly, and none of the underlying reports were opened for this comparison, so every certification cell above should be read as "the brand states this testing happened," not as an independently confirmed result.

The concentration a bottle actually reaches when you use it also depends on the length of the cycle you run and the water you start with, a relationship covered in more depth in the ppb-versus-ppm explanation linked above. And a certification mark like CE, RoHS or FCC confirms a different thing again, electrical safety or restricted-substance compliance rather than a hydrogen-specific performance test, which is explained fully in a separate planned guide to what CE, RoHS, FCC and SGS marks actually confirm.

There is also no single regulatory threshold that defines a "good enough" concentration for a hydrogen water bottle. Consumer bottles on the market span roughly 1,000 ppb to the low thousands, and a higher number on one brand's page does not by itself mean a meaningfully better result once you account for how and when that peak figure is measured.

Where Hydrion's Core and Pulse land in this comparison

Hydrion Core hydrogen water bottle
Hydrion Core: 5,000 ppb using a PEM membrane with platinum and iridium electrodes.

Hydrion's own two bottles sit inside the same table as the three other brands, judged on the same columns. Core's published figure is 5,000 ppb, produced through a Proton Exchange Membrane with platinum and iridium electrodes, in a 300 ml bottle that lists CE, RoHS and FCC certification on its own product page.

Hydrion Pulse hydrogen water bottle
Hydrion Pulse: dual-mode output using an SPE membrane with platinum-coated titanium electrodes.

Pulse's dual-mode figure, about 4,000 ppb on a five-minute cycle and up to 8,000 ppb on a ten-minute cycle, uses a solid polymer electrolyte membrane with platinum-coated titanium electrodes instead of Core's PEM and platinum-iridium setup, and its own product page adds SGS-tested status alongside the same CE, RoHS and FCC marks. Neither bottle is presented here as automatically ahead of the other three brands; the point of a shared table is to let the same criteria apply to every row, including Hydrion's own.

Readers who want a full one-to-one comparison against one specific named brand, rather than the single summary row each gets here, will find that in two planned articles: Echo Flask compared spec-by-spec against Piurify's Hydrogenator and Hydroh compared against its alternatives. For a broader walkthrough of what to check before buying any hydrogen water bottle, independent of brand, the existing buying guide covers that ground already, and this table intentionally does not repeat it.

Putting the table to use

The most useful way to read a comparison like this one is column by column rather than bottle by bottle: check which unit each brand actually printed before comparing concentration, note whether a membrane and electrode material are named at all, and look for a specific tester's name rather than an unattributed certification claim. Once those checks are done, the remaining decision usually comes down to capacity and how the bottle fits your routine, which the 7-point buyer's checklist walks through for anyone ready to move from comparing specs to shortlisting a bottle.

Back to blog