Hydrion H2 Molecular Hydrogen, 90 Tablets

Best Hydrogen Water Tablets (2026): How to Compare mg of H2, ppm, Magnesium and Cost per Glass

There isn't one hydrogen water tablet that wins on every measure, partly because the brands sold online don't even test their claims the same way. Before comparing Hydrion H2, Active H2 Ultra, Dr. Mercola H2 Molecular Hydrogen and PHM on price or on the ppm number printed on the label, it helps to line up what each brand actually discloses against five checkable points: the ppm claim alongside the water volume it was measured in, the magnesium dose and how it's described, how long the tablet takes to dissolve, how many tablets you get and what a serving costs where a price is published, and whether the brand states that the finished tablets were independently tested. Read that way, the numbers on four different product pages stop being marketing claims and start being data you can actually line up side by side.

  • A ppm figure only means something next to the water volume it was tested in; the same claim in a smaller glass delivers less total hydrogen than it does in a larger one.
  • Eighty milligrams of magnesium shows up in Hydrion's, Active H2 Ultra's and Dr. Mercola's tablets, and it's the magnesium itself reacting with water that produces the hydrogen gas, not a separate hydrogen additive.
  • Reported dissolve times range from about a minute (Active H2 Ultra, and PHM's own site) to two or three minutes (Hydrion, Dr. Mercola), while a UK retailer's PHM listing states 3–9 minutes for the same product line, a discrepancy worth flagging rather than picking a number to repeat.
  • Cost per tablet is only a fair comparison where a brand actually publishes a price on the page you're checking, and that figure moves with market and currency, so it's worth confirming directly on the seller's current listing rather than trusting a fixed number here.
  • Of the four, only Hydrion's product page states that the finished tablets are tested by an independent laboratory, rather than describing manufacturing certification alone.

How to compare hydrogen water tablets on the same terms

Hydrogen-tablet listings tend to lead with a single ppm number, but on its own that number doesn't tell you much. Each brand states its figures on a different page, in different units, and PHM's listings don't give a specific ppm or magnesium figure at all. Rather than repeat those claims as though they were interchangeable, the comparison below checks each brand against the same five points, taken only from what the brand or its retailer actually discloses:

  • The ppm claim, and the water volume it was measured in.
  • The magnesium dose per tablet and the word the brand uses for its form.
  • How long the tablet takes to fully dissolve.
  • How many tablets come in a pack, and whether the brand actually publishes a price for it, since a fair cost-per-tablet comparison only exists where that figure is shown.
  • Whether the brand states that the finished tablets, not just the factory that makes them, were independently tested.

Where a brand didn't publish a figure for one of these points, the table further down says so rather than filling in a number that was never stated. Readers who want the underlying mechanism explained before the brand-by-brand comparison can start with the guide to how molecular hydrogen tablets work and typical dosage, and readers still deciding between a tablet and a bottle in the first place may want to read the comparison between hydrogen tablets and hydrogen water bottles before going further here.

Why the ppm number on the label isn't the whole story

For a dilute solution like hydrogen water, one part per million is effectively the same as one milligram per litre, and the amount of hydrogen a person actually takes in is the water volume multiplied by the concentration, not the concentration alone (source: Calculating the Dose of H2, Molecular Hydrogen Institute). That's the reason a ppm claim only means something alongside the volume it was tested in. Hydrion states its 8 ppm figure in 500 ml of water, Dr. Mercola states its similar 8 ppm figure in 480 ml, and Active H2 Ultra states up to 10 ppm in 6–12 oz, which is roughly 180–360 ml. A tablet tested in a smaller glass can claim a higher or similar ppm number while still delivering a different total amount of hydrogen than one tested in a larger glass, so the three figures aren't directly comparable just because they're all expressed in ppm. Readers who want the ppm-versus-ppb terminology spelled out in more depth can see the explainer on concentration units; the short version here is that the volume printed next to the number matters as much as the number itself.

Magnesium dose, and how the tablet makes hydrogen in the first place

A hydrogen tablet doesn't contain hydrogen gas directly; it reacts with the water to produce it. Metallic magnesium reacts with water to form magnesium hydroxide and hydrogen gas (Mg + 2H₂O → Mg(OH)₂ + H₂), which is the fizzing you see and the reason the water becomes hydrogen-rich in the first place (source: Water-reactive substances, Wikipedia). That same reaction explains why the process eventually stops on its own: the magnesium hydroxide that forms on the tablet's surface is almost insoluble, so it coats the remaining metal and prevents further reaction once the tablet has dissolved.

Eighty milligrams of magnesium per tablet turns up across three of the four lines reviewed here: Hydrion, Active H2 Ultra and Dr. Mercola. Where they differ is the wording. Hydrion and Dr. Mercola both describe their magnesium as elemental, while Active H2 Ultra describes its as "ionic magnesium." None of the pages reviewed for this comparison settle whether that wording difference changes how much hydrogen is actually produced or absorbed, so it's worth noting as a difference in labelling rather than treating it as evidence that one form performs better than the other.

Dissolve time, tablet count and why cost per serving isn't always comparable

Dissolve time affects how long you wait before drinking, and the pages reviewed don't agree closely. Active H2 Ultra states about a minute, and PHM's own brand site describes a tablet dissolving fully in "approximately one minute." Hydrion states two to three minutes, and Dr. Mercola states under three minutes. A UK retailer listing for the same PHM tablets, though, instructs waiting 3–9 minutes, which is a meaningfully longer window than PHM's own site describes for what appears to be the same product. Rather than pick one of those two PHM figures to repeat, it's worth reading both retailer and brand instructions before assuming a fixed dissolve time for that line.

Pack sizes cluster around 90 tablets: Hydrion, Dr. Mercola's larger option and PHM's retailer-listed pack all come in 90-count bottles, while Active H2 Ultra is sold in 30- or 60-tablet packs and Dr. Mercola also offers a 30-tablet size. A genuine cost-per-tablet comparison only works where a brand actually publishes a price on the page you're looking at, and that figure changes with market and time, so it isn't reproduced here. Active H2 Ultra and PHM's own site each state a price for their 30-tablet pack, so a per-tablet figure can be worked out directly from their current listings; Dr. Mercola's page and the PHM retailer listing reviewed here don't show a price at all, so no per-tablet figure can be calculated for either of those.

What each brand actually stated about independent testing

Manufacturing certification and product testing answer different questions, and the two get blurred in a lot of supplement marketing. Hydrion's product page states that the tablets are made in a GMP-certified facility and tested by an independent laboratory before shipping, which speaks to the finished tablet itself. PHM's listings describe GMP certification along with "vegan, non-GMO," but neither PHM page reviewed states a specific hydrogen-yield test of the tablets. Active H2 Ultra's and Dr. Mercola's pages reviewed didn't mention an independent lab test of the finished product either. A GMP certification confirms that a facility follows good manufacturing practice; it doesn't by itself confirm that the ppm figure printed on the label was independently measured. Readers who'd rather check a tablet's actual output themselves, instead of relying on any label claim, can see the guide to measuring hydrogen in water with test drops or a meter.

Scoring the tablets on these five criteria

Brand ppm claim (water volume) Magnesium dose / form Dissolve time Tablet count Independent testing stated
Hydrion H2 8 ppm in 500 ml 80 mg, elemental 2–3 min 90 Yes
Active H2 Ultra Up to 10 ppm in 6–12 oz (≈180–360 ml) 80 mg, ionic (per brand wording) ≈1 min 30 or 60 Not stated
Dr. Mercola H2 Up to 8 ppm in 480 ml 80 mg, elemental <3 min 30 or 90 Not stated
PHM Not disclosed on pages reviewed Not disclosed on pages reviewed ≈1 min (brand site) / 3–9 min (UK retailer) 90 (retailer) or 30 (brand site) GMP stated; no lab test stated
Hydrion H2 Molecular Hydrogen tablets, 90-count bottle
Hydrion H2 tablets scored on the same five criteria as the other three lines above: 8 ppm in 500 ml, 80 mg elemental magnesium, a 2–3 minute dissolve time, 90 tablets per bottle, and independent lab testing stated on the product page.

Placed next to the other three, Hydrion's numbers sit within the same range rather than standing apart from it: its ppm claim is close to Dr. Mercola's once the water volume is accounted for, its magnesium dose matches two of the other three lines, and its dissolve time falls in the same window as Dr. Mercola's. The clearest difference in this particular table is the testing claim, since it's the only one of the four that states independent lab testing of the finished tablets rather than manufacturing certification alone. Readers who want a deeper, measured-output comparison for a specific brand can see the planned deep-dive spec check on Active H2 or the deep-dive spec check on PHM, which go further than the shared-criteria summary here.

Which of these five criteria should carry the most weight depends on what you're actually optimizing for. If a verified independent test matters more to you than anything else, that narrows the field to whichever brand states one. If speed is the deciding factor, the roughly one-minute dissolve times reported by Active H2 Ultra and PHM's own site are faster than the two-to-three-minute figures from Hydrion and Dr. Mercola. And if cost per serving is what decides it, that comparison is only possible for the two brands that actually published a price, which is a limitation of the label data itself rather than something this comparison can work around.

Common questions when comparing hydrogen tablets

Does a higher ppm number always mean a better tablet?

Not on its own. A ppm claim is meaningless without the water volume it was measured in, since the actual amount of hydrogen delivered is the volume multiplied by the concentration. A tablet claiming a higher ppm in a smaller glass isn't automatically delivering more hydrogen than one with a lower ppm claim tested in a larger glass; you'd need to know both numbers to compare them fairly.

Does a "GMP-certified" label prove the ppm claim is accurate?

No. GMP certification describes the manufacturing facility's quality-control practices, not a specific test of the finished tablet's hydrogen output. Among the four lines reviewed here, only Hydrion's page states that the tablets themselves were tested by an independent laboratory in addition to being made in a GMP-certified facility.

Back to blog